Rhetoric1302-007

February 6, 2010

You can have your cake and eat it, too.

Filed under: Uncategorized — superallyk @ 5:52 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Phew!

Firstly, I would like to thank my roommate’s fork for collaborating with me.  It would not have been possible without your winning performance, fork!  Secondly, I promise that the cake is unharmed.  Not all of my stories will be as sad/gruesome/tragic/murderous as my first two posts, I promise!  It’s just that food and eating go hand in hand, and these were the easiest/first ideas that came to mind.  I apologize for the bad photography/lighting; the cake poking out from behind the gingerbread house is blurry and hard to see because, as I later unfortunately realized, I had the camera on the setting to focus on the things closest to the camera.  I also later realized that I’d turned on the lamp in the background between shooting the initial fork scene and the cake introduction scene.  Whoops.

Usually, I know when clay is going to be difficult to use.  If it’s dried to the point of being rock solid, there’s no saving it, but if it’s still slightly flexible, I know it’ll take several drops of clay softener and lots of kneading to get it to the right consistency.  Then it’ll be nice and mushy and moldable.  However, I never expected my clay to be too mushy.  This was the case with the slice of chocolate cake.  Just holding the lump of clay while sculpting would leave a swirly thumbprint indent, something that does NOT belong on a piece of cake.  The brown frosting and the tan cake would merge together, making it harder for the cake to look realistic.  In the end, it took me several tries to get the texture of the cake to a passable state.  I can’t wait until this weekend to get some liquid clay for more realistic frosting!  I will never again make the mistake of working with too-soft clay, though, because I learned the technique of leaching after consulting my polymer clay guidebook.  Roll the soft clay flat between two sheets of paper and let it sit for a few hours so that the plasticine (the stuff that keeps the clay soft) bleeds out of the clay and onto the paper.  This should make the clay firmer to mold with!

A friend of mine suggested I post tutorials on how to make things out of clay, saying I would get a lot of hits this way.  Now I don’t care about getting hits, but posting tutorials every once in a while instead of taking the time to make a story and photograph it would save me time.  What do you guys think?  Would tutorials be helpful to you?  I wonder if it would be a wise idea to tell people how I make the things I’m trying to sell, but I figure no one I know is going to go out of their way to buy clay supplies if they weren’t already into crafting themselves.

For the rest of you who aren’t artsy, I am selling the unfortunate slice of chocolate cake for $4.  One of my artsy friends, who is knowledgeable on the going prices of handmade items (such at the ones that sell on the craft-selling site Etsy), suggested a price of $6, but I can’t bring myself to be one of those ridiculously pricey sellers, considering I’m trying to market to poor college students.  Of course, if no one minds paying that much, I’d be happy to oblige…

Here it is shown next to a penny for size comparison:

See, I told you it was just fine. If you ignore the fact that it's missing all its facial features...

Tempting, no?  If you want to see it in person because the bad lighting (sorry) isn’t doing it justice, I’ll probably be carrying it around with me to class.  Currently it’s as is, no keychain or cell phone strap attached, but I can turn it into either at an extra charge of $1.  I’ve never drilled a hole into a piece of baked clay before, but I’m sure there’s a way to do it… If not, I’ll just glue the cake onto a clay plate and make a hole there, so you get a free plate, too.

On the subject of selling things, the upstart of this blog project has brought me more than I expected.  Originally, I’d intended to just sell off the things I made for my blog stories, but after approaching some of my friends about buying one of the pie slices and a hamburger from my last post, they instead asked me if I could make other things, too!  Consequently, I ended up with five commissions for various animals (and a fictional character who also happens to be an animal).  Why my friends all want animals instead of delicious food, I’ll never know.  So, I’m open to commission suggestions, but I’ll probably charge more for those, and it’d be a lot more convenient if you all just wanted the foods I’ve already made.  Either way, it seems I’ve started up my own little business!  I will post pictures of these commissions later, and I may use animals with/instead of the food in future stories.

Is it just me, or is it really hard to resist using emoticons while typing conversationally like this?  Yet it is so much easier to go on and on about something.  Oh, the influence of the Internet on our generation…

EDIT: On second thought, I’ll only charge an extra 50 cents for turning this one into a keychain/charm, since it’s my fault that I baked it before sticking in an eyepin…

4 Comments »

  1. You should make the pictures into a GIF, I think it’ll help with the story.

    Comment by Brittney Gordon — February 6, 2010 @ 8:47 pm | Reply

  2. Yea, I was thinking about turning it into an animation. 😛 It’d probably be easier than uploading those silly pictures one by and and resizing them one by one. Plus it’d really shorten my posts. It would also distinguish it a bit more from My Milk Toof.

    Comment by superallyk — February 7, 2010 @ 12:42 am | Reply

  3. If ur trying turn it into an animation u should use 3Ds Max. ^^ It’s realy cute though. >.< poor little cake. ^^

    Comment by Mariana Sáenz — February 9, 2010 @ 9:36 pm | Reply

  4. I’ve never heard of that before. I was thinking of just doing the animation on Adobe Flash in the ATEC building, but being able to do it on my own computer would be more convenient. 🙂

    Comment by superallyk — February 10, 2010 @ 3:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

